ExtraTorrent Closes its Doors After 11 Years

Clearly torrent websites are going through a tough time. After KickassTorents (which has just been resurrected) and Torrentz.eu, it seems that it is time for ExtraTorrent to throw in the towel. So the entertainment industry has managed to make another victim.

The decision came overnight, simply removing all of the content hosted by the site and related mirrors. Visiting the extra.to homepage, users are welcomed with a short message confirming that the page has closed forever. ExtraTorrent will probably never return, administrators asking the community to avoid ExtraTorrent clones that may appear in the coming days, this happened when KickassTorents was closed.

ExtraTorrent was set up in November 2006 and proved to be more durable than many of the rest of the time. Over the past 11 years, gradually building a loyal community, ExtraTorrent become the second most popular torrent site after Pirate Bay. Dealing with big names in the field, such as Mininova or TorrentSpy, ExtraTorrent managed to overtake most of the giants.

So far, it is unclear why ExtraTorrent made this decision, but it is easy to assume that it may be related to pressures from the entertainment industry, this is usually the case for torrent sites deciding to step back. Just like other sites of its kind, ExtraTorrent has been for years in the viewpoint of the entertainment industry. Also blacklisted by the US government for massive violations of copyright and online piracy.

However, closing torrent sites does not necessarily mean the end of BitTorrent and the associated piracy. On the contrary. Even though the life of these sites has dropped dramatically, except the immortal Pirate Bay, the community is much more flexible than before. So when a torrent site falls, another takes its place.

A nice example is the relatively new SkyTorrents. No one knows how long a similar site will last – it may not be functional in a month, but it will serve up to thirteen million torrents in a clean web interface without a single advertisement.

Now it’s Much Easier to Cancel your Uber Account and Data

Uber continues to expand its global dominance over a significant number of territories, and the new update to the mobile application might help.

Uber is a company that has encountered many problems in the past year and, besides comfortable transportation services, continues to be synonymous with the scandal. Leaving aside the fact that traditional Taxi services are trying to get Uber out of several countries, the company have also a problem with transparency and how they use the user data. Moreover, it also made life very difficult for those who were trying to erase their Uber account.

Many thought the deletion of the mobile app was equivalent to canceling the Uber account, but it is NOT. More than that, once you’ve deleted the app from your smartphone, all your contacts along with rides and in-app activity history remained on the Uber servers.

The latest update solves many of the users’ problems about how the company interacts with private data. Now there’s a new section called Privacy Settings where a number of features are centralized. From there, you can define how Uber is accessing your data and also you can be more specific in personalizing your mobile notifications.

You can even choose whether or not to allow Uber to access your location information. In the past, the only way you could block access to the location of the program was at the operating system level on your mobile.
As regards the data already stored on Uber servers, in the Privacy Settings option you will find a tab clearly marked – Remove Stored Contacts. It will help you delete all your Uber contacts.

In addition, you can cancel your Uber account without having to call a customer service. The process can be initiated from your mobile device and you have 30 days to change your mind, while the account is deactivated.